Skip to content

Weekly Schedule

  • Morning session: Thursdays 11:00AM - 1:00PM US Arizona Mountain Standard Time (2:00PM - 4:00PM US Eastern Time)
  • Afternoon session: Thursdays 3:30PM - 5:00PM US Arizona Mountain Standard Time (6:30PM - 8:00PM US Eastern Time)

Zoom Info

Calendar

Week Date Content Morning Instructor Afternoon Instructor
Week 0 Sept 8 pre-FOSS workshop:
- Unix shell basics
- Git basics
Michele Cosi -
Week 1 Sept 15 Workshop introduction:
- Intro to Open Science
Tyson Swetnam Tyson Swetnam
Week 2 Sept 22 - Project management
- Intro to CyVerse
Tyson Swetnam Tyson Swetnam
Week 3 Sept 29 Data management:
- FAIR data
- Data Management Plans
- Intro to Data Store
Jason Williams Tyson Swetnam/Michele Cosi
Week 4 Oct 6 Documentation / Communication:
- Internal + External Documentation
- Internal + External Communication
- GitHub Pages websites
Michael Culshaw-Maurer Tyson Swetnam/Michele Cosi
Week 5 Oct 13 Version Control
- Version control as a philosophy
- GitHub functionality
Version control everything
Jason Williams Michele Cosi
Week 6 Oct 20 Reproducibility I:
- Software installation
- Software management
Michele Cosi Michele Cosi
Week 7 Oct 27 Reproducibility II:
- Cloud computing
- CyVerse tools
TBA TBA
Week 8 Nov 3 Reproducibility III:
- Brief intro to containers
Flex time:
- Ask questions
- More detail on previous topics
TBA TBA
Week 9 Nov 10 Review, summary and addressing final project inquiries
Week 10 Nov 17 Final project presentations

Last update: 2022-10-05